Concert 7 | Ed Sheeran

My friend and I have been dreaming about going to a concert of Ed Sheeran for ages. It was the only music we would listen to when we were together. After a break of one year, Ed Sheeran was back! (And how holy!) When he announced his shows in Ziggodome, Amsterdam, I was so excited! And when we got tickets, I was going nuts! Our dream was finally coming true!! And it was even better than I dreamt, read about it in this blog post!

IMG_20170403_183317

This was all the merchandise, I got quite greedy ;). I bought a bracelet which I’m wearing almost every day along with my other concert bracelets.

So I went with my friend from Brasil and another friend and her mother (with who I went to Adele and Tom Odell too). Her mother managed to get tickets again despite the thousands of people who tried to get tickets! We didn’t get seats and first I was a bit… disappointed? Because standing in such a big crowd scared me. But everything turned out way better than I expected, and in the end, I’m very very happy with our place.

Ed Sheeran had two support acts, Ryan McMullan and Anne-Marie. I didn’t know Ryan McMullan. He really surprised me. He is really good!! I already knew Anne-Marie from hits like ‘Rockabye’ and ‘Alarm’ and was looking forward to seeing her live. She has an amazing voice and is a powerful woman. And also live is her singing almost flawless and very strong.

IMG_20170403_203301

Although we entered Ziggodome one hour after the doors opened, we had a pretty good place! I think we were on 1/3 of the room. First, there was a large, bold man in front of our view, but luckily he moved. We could see everything very well!

IMG_20170403_204659

This is the setlist of the concert:

  1. Castle on the Hill
  2. Eraser
  3. The A Team
  4. Don’t / New Man
  5. Dive
  6. Bloodstream
  7. Happier
  8. Galway Girl
  9. How Would You Feel (Paean)
  10. What Do I Know?
  11. Human / I See Fire
  12. Perfect
  13. Nancy Mulligan
  14. Thinking Out Loud
  15. Sing

Encore:

16. Shape of You
17. You Need Me, I Don’t Need You

I could name every song, followed by a sentence which says it was amazing. But yeah, I could just do that with every song because everything was good. So I will name a couple things. For example the mash-ups, that was very cool! With I See Fire, he started it and then he began to sing Human. I was very surprised, but it sounded great! I think Human (by Rag’n’Bone Man) is a beautiful song. I know using a loop station is very hard, but Ed made zero mistakes! Like, how? The variety of the songs, between singing along and tearing up (happier) was also great. He also played How Would You Feel, the pianist of the band from Anne-Marie played the piano for that song which was beautiful!

IMG_20170403_211951.jpg

Oh, and can we just appreciate his super cute and sweet smile for a moment? 🙂

The concert of Ed Sheeran was absolutely phenomenal! He performs with his guitar and a loop station, but it sounds like a whole band. Just like a lyrics ‘I’m just a boy with a one man show’. During the concert, I’ve never thought about that there was no band. You don’t miss a thing although Ed is the only one on a big stage. With the loop station, Ed records short samples and repeats them. You can build those samples and in that way, a whole song appears, including the rhythm (drums), guitar and backing vocals. The singing of Ed was flawless and full of power and emotion.

IMG_20170403_215610

The big stage was made a little bit cosier by the monitors and mics around Ed. Behind him were video screens where close-up shots of Ed were showed, but also very very cool illustrations. Besides the music, the visual part of the show was also amazing.

IMG_20170403_215857

The last song Ed played, was ‘You Need Me, I Don’t Need You’. The whole crowd was singing/screaming along! Later I realised we were singing to Ed that we don’t need him. 😉 I do need you, Ed!

Everything is right, the variety of the songs, the visuals, the energy. I just, ugh, I don’t have enough words, arms and legs to describe how this concert was. I hope I gave you a glance of how this night was if you didn’t manage to get tickets. I would say: If you love the music of Ed, please try to see him live the next time. But maybe there is no next time :(. He said he doesn’t want to tour when he has kids, just like Adele. So I’m extra thankful that I’ve witnessed Ed live. It was a dream that came true. Thanks, Lua, Aileen and Corine! ❤

Have you ever seen Ed Sheeran live?

10 gedachtes over “Concert 7 | Ed Sheeran

Geef een reactie

